DIY: How to turn a dress into a top

There is a popular saying “Make the most out of what you have”. I believe this can apply in fashion, and with your wardrobe. There are so many beautiful garments we have in our closets which we haven’t worn in years. Maybe it doesn’t fit anymore, not our style anymore but still holds sentimental value or we didn’t even like it in the first place. Whatever the reason, transform those things into what you would love to wear. I am here to help you maximize your wardrobe, make it more versatile and sustainable. Turning a dress into a top is a great way to get started. So grab that dress, let’s do this thing.

Soooo…I’ve had this dress for a while now and I do not wear it often. All because while I love the pattern and the fabric, I don’t like how it looks on me. Anyway, in an attempt to salvage the situation, I had it turned into a peplum top! And am sharing the tutorial for how it was done today, just in case you have an old dress in the closet that could use a similar treatment.

So, this was a fun little project to put together. It’s not exactly a clothing line, but it’s nice to get some use out of an old piece of clothing again. Here is a link to my YouTube channel explaining in detail how to achieve this DIY. Do you have an old dress like mine that could use an upgrade? And more importantly…are there any other DIY sewing projects you’d like to see in the future? I’m all ears.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.